T20 – Bangladeshi goalkeeper Nurul Hasan has been accused of “false defending” by Virat Kohli in a harrowing, rain-affected match against Bangladesh on Wednesday night in Adelaide, implying that India should have been penalized five runs.
Hasan asserted that the on-site arbitrator missed the case. Through the D/L strategy, India ultimately prevailed by 5 runs.
Lytton Das deflected Axar Patel’s delivery in the seventh over of Bangladesh’s innings, minutes before the rain started. Kohli retreated and pretended to pass the shot to the striker’s wing when Arshdeep Singh lobbed it deep at the goalkeeper.
Chris Brown and Mare Erasmus, the field referees, didn’t see the incident and didn’t let it go. The referee also ignored Bangladeshi batsmen Das and Najmo Hussain Shanto.
After play resumed, Nurul was asked in Bengali if the ground was wet and unsuitable for batting, especially given that Litton Das had fallen twice. The false shot followed. A five-run penalty could have been the penalty. Despite our best efforts, things did not turn out as planned.
“It is unfair for a fielder, by word or action, to distract, mislead, or interfere with a batsman after the forward has received the ball,” states Law 41.5, which was implemented in 2017.
The umpire has the authority to award five runs to the batting team and declare a ball “dead” in such situations.
There were also a few more arbitration cases in the game. Kohli mentioned that Bangladesh’s Hasan Mahmud had run out the second keeper in the 16th over of India’s innings. Kohli and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al-Hasan engaged in a midfield duel while the referee watched as Erasmus immediately declared a no-ball.
When India captain Rohit Sharma reiterated the call to reduce the match to 16 games and award Bangladesh a revised goal, Shakib could be seen engaging in lively conversation with the referee. Even as he saw himself… shaking his head, he showed them how wet the field was.